Introduction to End-Point Assessment!

What is an End-Point Assessment?

Welcome to our first blog post! We will be diving into the basic principles of what an EPA is, who assesses it, how assessments may vary and we give a few examples to top it off – Enjoy!


What is an EPA? 

Anyone who desires the completion of a Standards Apprenticeship will have to have to undergo an End-Point Assessment – also known as an EPA. An EPA is carried out by an Independent End-Point Assessor (IEPA) after the Apprentice has completed Gateway (we will cover that in another blog post!) and at the end of their on-programme training– the stage in which an Apprentice must go through a series of training and development by an Employer and Training Provider. The EPA may by constructed in different forms based on the Apprenticeship being completed: assignments, exams, projects, discussions, interviews, etc.  

Ultimately, the EPA works as an essential and additional level of accreditation for the Apprentice to show that the knowledge, skills and behaviours that they had acquired through their on-programme had been intellectually absorbed and can be properly implemented into their following career! Employers will decide when the Apprentice is occupationally competent to take the EPA.  


Who assesses the EPA, and how is it graded? 

An End-Point Assessment Organisation – also known as an EPAO – consist of IEPA’s and are the providers of EPA’s. These EPAO’s are responsible for creating, providing and awarding the Standard to the apprentices who are wishing to capitalise and complete their apprenticeships. The Standards SSES will be working with are graded in a Fail, Pass or Distinction outcome. It is important to remember that EPA’s may vary greatly in regard to form, topic of discussion, and assignments – all in which will have a different influence on the overall grade based on the Apprenticeship being tested. 


Here are some examples of what an EPA may look like for a few of the Apprenticeships we will be providing: 

Early Years Educator Standard: Knowledge Test (35 questions, 60 minutes), Professional Discussion (90 minutes) 

Children, Young People, Families Level 4 Standard: Observation of Practice (80-90 minutes), Competence Interview (60 minutes) 

Children, Young People, Families Level 5 Standard: Situational Written Judgement Test (4 Questions, 45 minutes), Competence Interview (60 minutes) 


November 28, 2019